2022 Annual Meeting Happy Hour

Presented by:


Port of Olympia logo
June 1, 2022 | 3pm - 6pm

Indian Summer Golf & Country Club
5900 Troon Lane SE, Olympia, WA

Event tickets in advance: $40, $50 at the door

Special Thanks to our Hospitality Sponsor
Indian Summer Golf & Country Club logo

our our Supporting Sponsors:

Annual Meeting Supporting Sponsors

our In-KInd Sponsors:

In Kind 2022 Annual Meeting Sponsors


and our Tourism Champion Sponsors:

2022 Annual Meeting Tourism Champion Sponsors


    Reserve your Ticket


Help us recognize Thurston County’s Tourism Leaders at Our Annual Meeting on June 1st!

Thurston County's tourism industry can only be as successful as the people working behind the scenes planning the events, running the businesses, marketing the area, and of course, making all guests feel welcome and at home here. It's this combined body of work that brings visitors to our area. Below is the list of nominations we received that includes individuals that truly took hospitality and destination development to the next level in the past year. Winners will be announced in person at our Annual Meeting on June 1st and we hope to have you join us to recognize these outstanding tourism professionals!

Tourism Trailblazer Award

This individual brought new ideas and innovative ways of attracting visitors to Thurston County in the past 12 months. They took risks and thought "out of the box", and the result is growing enthusiasm about visiting the iconic destinations in Thurston County.

  • Noah Aden, Yelm Cinemas
  • The Boo-Crew of the Boo-Coda Spook-Tacular Committee including Bucoda 2021 Mayor Alan Carr and 2022 Mayor Steve Purcell
  • Rebecca Catlett, Washington State Department of Enterprise Services
  • Stef Cicerello, Capital Mall 
  • Osheea Davis, Heritage Distilling Company
  • Bernetia Johnson, Love Local Events LLC
  • Jeff Olive, Airport Golf & Batting Center
  • Line Roy, Yelm Chamber of Commerce
Excellence in Hospitality Award

This individual is a frontline worker who put in the hours during the past 12 months, made all guests feel welcome, and typified the attributes of a gracious and knowledgeable host. The result of their efforts creates a visitor who is eager to return and visit Thurston County again due to their exceptional customer service.

  • Jo, Starbucks at Tumwater (340 Cleveland Ave SE)
  • Khurshida Begum, ASHHO Cultural Community Center
  • Lori Bodnar, Great Wolf Lodge
  • Justin Bourdon, Wild Heart Sipping Vinegars and Sandstone Distillery
  • Amy Bueno, New Traditions Fair Trade
  • Connie Bunyer, Mystic Journeys Sailboat Charter
  • Bill Devore, 507 Taproom and Filling Station
  • Elyse Harrington, Elyse’s Catering
  • Shenna Hayden, Hands On Children’s Museum
  • Vanessa Nelson, The Washington Center for the Performing Arts
  • Cheryl Pearce, Sandstone Cafe in Tenino
  • George Sharp, Thurston County Economic Council
Patrick Knutson Tourism Legend Award

The Patrick Knutson Tourism Legend Award honors an individual who has served in the hospitality industry for 10+ years and either currently resides in or has roots in Thurston County. The award winner exemplified the characteristics of leadership, innovation and stewardship in hospitality over his or her lifetime.

  • Michelle Daniel, Department of Enterprise Services, Capitol Security and Visitor Services
  • George Johnson, City of Rainier City Council and We Love Rainier Washington Team
  • Elyse Harrington, Elyse’s Catering
  • Denise Hibbeln, Prairie Park
  • Gabi Shephard-Troutman, Gabi's Cards & Comics
  • Christian Skillings, Iron Rabbit to Cynara
  • Don Trosper, retired from The Olympia Tumwater Foundation
  • Ruth Weigelt, Lacey Spring Fun Fair


Winners will be announced in person at our Annual Meeting on June 1st!


For a list of historic nominees and winners, click here.